Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Google Chrome 32 Is Out: Noisy Tabs Indicators, Supervised Users

Comments Filter:
  • by LordLimecat (1103839) on Tuesday January 14, 2014 @08:29PM (#45959733)

    And if you want evil: the "block malware" is presumably done by sending the name/location of the file you want to download to a google server,

    Thats not even a remotely safe assumption. For years now Chrome has created temporary files called "Safe Browsing Bloom" under the profile, which are presumably databases of malicious URLs. They could easily do something similar for malicious files. Either way, its something you can easily turn of with one click of a checkbox, and its something that all browsers do-- but apparently Google is the only one who gets flak for it. Nice.

    where it can be preserved forever and delivered to the government on request.... nice.

    I get that some people dont like Google's core business (info gathering / advertising), but this is about the stupidest reason to be anti-google ever.
    They are the ONLY major search provider who fought against China's requests for data on dissident bloggers
    They are the ONLY ones who arent ambiguous about their own privacy policy (Im looking at you, Bing)
    And unlike almost any of the other major tech companies out there, they very frequently go to bat for user privacy and rights-- for example, refusing to provide US authorities user information without court-orders or warrants, providing info through the EFF's chilling effects pages on takedowns, and fighting lawsuits to indemnify users against patent trolls.

    If this isnt "biting the hand that feeds you", I dont know what is. Have fun with Bing, just hope you arent a dissident in some authoritarian country.

  • by LordLimecat (1103839) on Tuesday January 14, 2014 @08:41PM (#45959925)

    I just did some research; No, they do not submit it to Google. From their docs:
    https://developers.google.com/safe-browsing/ [google.com]

    The Safe Browsing API is an experimental API that enables applications to download an encrypted table for local, client-side lookups of URLs that you would like to check. ...
    The Safe Browsing API v2 has the following advantages:
      * Better privacy: API users exchange data with the server using hashed URLs so the server never knows the actual URLs queried by the clients.

    And of course, you can actually see said database tables under your profile as files beginning,..
    "C:\Users\[USER]\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Safe Browsing*"
    And if you were truly paranoid and / or wanted to stop spreading FUD, you could wireshark your connections to confirm that they do not, in fact, send those URLs to google to block malware.

  • by dresgarcia (251585) on Tuesday January 14, 2014 @08:41PM (#45959933)

    Its called adblock plus. Familiarize yourself and never go back.
    All this cry-baby complaining had me wondering why I don't notice "noisy ads" or, well, ads at all. I realized its because I never see them.

    https://adblockplus.org/

To thine own self be true. (If not that, at least make some money.)

Working...