Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Google Social Networks Businesses

Google Plus Now Minus Chief Vic Gundotra 93

Posted by Unknown Lamer
from the google-plus-still-exists? dept.
JG0LD (2616363) writes "Vic Gundotra, the man behind Google Plus and one of Google's most prominent executives, announced today that he will leave the company 'effective immediately.' Gundotra made the announcement, appropriately enough, in a lengthy Google Plus post, praising his co-workers and saying that he is 'excited about what's next.' However, he did not further outline his future plans, saying that 'this isn't the day to talk about that.'"
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Google Plus Now Minus Chief Vic Gundotra

Comments Filter:
  • Re:Please... (Score:5, Informative)

    by lemur3 (997863) on Thursday April 24, 2014 @05:08PM (#46835935)

    one can create what is called a "Page" in google+ parlance.. and that page can be pseudonymous,.. you can be named anything you want under that page and use it on youtube, etc..

    of course youll have to create it from a 'real name' google+ account, but unless you divulge it in public theres no way to know who it is behind the 'Page' account. .....your gmail contacts dont get notified if you like the latest pop video on youtube when using a google+ account...

    on commenting for the *First Time* using an account on youtube which is tied to google+ the default option below the comment box is to 'make public' the comment, which sends it to your google+ feed, if you turn that option off it is sticky and will remain off in the future and that comment only lives within youtube.

    while there are annoyances related to google+ ..most of the complaints just dont apply these days, it has changed quite a lot since it came out a few years ago... and for most of the complaints, there is a (mostly) reasonable solution.

    the "i want to be totally anonymous" solution some people seem to look for doesnt really apply to the product.. pseudoanonymity is about as best as youll get

  • Re:Please... (Score:2, Informative)

    by BitZtream (692029) on Thursday April 24, 2014 @05:28PM (#46836093)

    I don't want all my gmail contacts getting notified through Google+ that watzinaneihm liked the latest pop video on youtube.

    So go to your preferences and turn it off. Or uncheck the 'also share on Google+' checkbox when posting.

    Seriosly, This isn't hard.

  • Re:Please... (Score:4, Informative)

    by lemur3 (997863) on Thursday April 24, 2014 @05:32PM (#46836127)

    Oh come on... The fact that you don't like it, does not mean it does not fill its niche. I remember people saying the same about Facebook and Twitter. Some people like it, get over it.

    I think google+ is pretty darn good as far as social networks go. It gets a lot of hate, but judging by what people say, a lot of that is from what it was in 2011, and concerns of anonymity. (The 'nag' screens feel like a different issue)

    As for anonymity I am fine with not being anonymous to Google itself. I send email using Google Apps for Business account using my real name, they have my billing info and I don't mind sharing stuff I like to friends, family, and the public using my name on my public Google+ account. I did the on a personal website long before Google+ existed.

    As for (pseudo)anonymity on Google+ I can choose how I share. I can choose whether or not to be BasementHacker20129 for my online profile using the "Pages" feature, sure, Google still knows that the name BasementHacker20129 that I used to reply a trollish comment about the Tea Party on youtube was sent by my Real Name.. but nobody else would. This seems reasonable to me, maybe not to others...

    I happen to enjoy seeing Wil Wheaton posting about the stuff he is doing that week on my Google+ feed. I enjoy seeing the stuff Linus Torvalds posts on Google+. Those guys are pretty geeky. It is good enough for me, and them. It has no ads.

    Sure, it wants to know your real name.. But I found, after poo-pooing it in 2011, that when I came back for a 2nd look in 2014 that it was actually pretty damned good.

  • Re:Google- (Score:5, Informative)

    by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 24, 2014 @05:38PM (#46836161)

    You are incorrect.
    You cannot comment on youtube without g+
    You cannot, according to ToS, have a g+ profile without having your real name on it.

    They already had single sign on using gprofile/gmail as the key. But they did not require a real name for that. Having a real name associated with the account is a no go for some people. I do not feel comfortable for people who follow my art blog having a way to go from my email to my real name. I'll choose to give it to those I am comfortable meeting in real life and no one else.

  • Re:Please... (Score:5, Informative)

    by vux984 (928602) on Thursday April 24, 2014 @05:53PM (#46836287)

    So go to your preferences and turn it off. Or uncheck the 'also share on Google+' checkbox when posting.

    And relearn how to do that every time google changes anything. Possilby needing to learn new permissions models and settings and interfaces on Google's unpredictable schedule.

    Take a look at Facebook's permissions settings history for an example.

    Seriosly, This isn't hard.

    It's harder than it needs to be.

    Separate the accounts entirely that aren't linked to something with your real name eliminates unintended mistakes no matter what google does with the interface tomorrow.

  • Re:Please... (Score:0, Informative)

    by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 24, 2014 @08:44PM (#46837583)

    I've been on G+ since the beginning. I've never had to go change a permission setting since the first time, and whenever they've added any sort of setting, the default was quite restrictive.

  • by drinkypoo (153816) <martin.espinoza@gmail.com> on Friday April 25, 2014 @12:17AM (#46838481) Homepage Journal

    My daughter has removed every hidden tick from every hidden box she can find on G+, but every personal photo she takes on her Nexus 5 ends up straight away "shared".

    Amusingly, this is a feature which defaults off. She asked for this. Now she can't figure out how to turn it off, and Google is the bad guy? Maybe the apple just doesn't fall far from the tree.

Remember: use logout to logout.

Working...