Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Technology

Goodbye, Ctrl-S 521

Posted by Soulskill
from the couldn't-save-itself dept.
An anonymous reader writes "'Save your work!' — This was a rallying cry for an entire generation of workers and students. The frequency and unpredictability of software crashes, power outages, and hardware failures made it imperative to constantly hit that save button. But in 2014? Not so much. My documents are automatically saved (with versioning) every time I make a change. My IDE commits code changes automatically. Many webforms will save drafts of whatever data I'm entering. Heck, even the games I play have an autosave feature. It's an interesting change — the young generation will grow up with an implicit trust that whatever they type into a computer will stay there. Maybe this is my generation's version of: 'In my day, we had to get up and walk across the room to change the channel on the TV!' In any case, it has some subtle but interesting effects on how people write, play, and create. No longer do we have to have constant interruptions to worry about whether our changes are saved — but at the same time, we don't have that pause to take a moment and reflect on what we've written. I'm sure we've all had moments where our hands hover over a save/submit button before changing our minds and hammering the backspace key. Maybe now we'll have to think before we write."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Goodbye, Ctrl-S

Comments Filter:
  • Wow, déjà vu (Score:5, Interesting)

    by hubie (108345) on Friday May 23, 2014 @12:34PM (#47075363)
    This sounded so familiar to me [slashdot.org], but I can't believe it has been over eight years ago. I must be remembering a similar story posted much more recently.
  • by Mr. Slippery (47854) <tms@nOspam.infamous.net> on Friday May 23, 2014 @12:59PM (#47075687) Homepage

    Carl-s

    It's only pronounced that way.

    It is? When did this start? "Control" is too difficult to say?

  • by Noah Haders (3621429) on Friday May 23, 2014 @01:21PM (#47075993)
    I'm a mac fan, but I have to say that apple screwed the pooch with mavericks on this one. for the stock apple programs they got rid of the save button entirely and now everything auto saves. This is ok, but the really bad part is they got rid of save as - you know, you make some changes but decide you want to keep the original so you make this file v2 or whatever? Even worse, bowing to pressure they added back in the save as, but accessible as a secondary choice with option-click.

    the whole thing is just weird and to tell you the truth it made me stop using the apple programs so I never got used to it or fully figured it out.
  • by BronsCon (927697) <social@bronstrup.com> on Friday May 23, 2014 @01:42PM (#47076251) Journal
    The only Apple program I use is TextEdit, and that only for a scratch pad, so I'm more or less unaffected by that. That said, I can certainly see why it would be annoying... essentially, if you decide you want to save your changes in a new file, they want you to copy the most recent version (in Finder), then roll the original back the a previous version. The option-click "workaround" was added because people couldn't figure that out; not that they should have to, as "Save As..." should never have gone away in the first place. But, with autosave, it's somewhat of a hack, anyway; what does the original file end up looking like? Do you revert the original to the state it was in when it was last opened? The last autosave? Normally, it would retain its last manually-saved state, but there isn't one...

    Replacing a 3-step process (Command-Shift-S; Type new filename, Hit Enter) with a 7-step process (Close file [to ensure your changes are saved, since you can no longer do this manually]; Copy file; Rename copy; Reopen the file; Click File -> Revert To -> Browse All Versions; Find the version you want to revert to; Click Restore).

    Alternately, you can restore the old revision as a new file (the opposite workflow) in 5-steps (Click File -> Revert To -> Browse All Versions; Find the version you want; Option-Click Restore a Copy; Enter new filename; Click Save).

    Of course, Apple's own documentation [apple.com] does imply that the "Save" option still exists. It is there in TextEdit, but I can't confirm this for any other Apple apps under Mavericks.

    Bravo, Apple... Bravo.

Testing can show the presense of bugs, but not their absence. -- Dijkstra

Working...