Forgot your password?

typodupeerror
Security

U.S. Web Firm Outed As 'Phantom Registrar' Haven->

Submitted by
snydeq
snydeq writes "InfoWorld's Martin Heller directs attention to ongoing investigations of more than 40 phantom registrars linked to The Directi Group, including PDR, one of the 10 worst offenders on the Net. According to KnujOn, an additional 19,000 domains advertised through spam have been hiding their ownership behind PrivacyProtect.org, which The Washington Post has outed as Directi-owned. Directi claims it suspends illicit domains, but KnujOn provides documentation suggesting that Directi reports the registrars suspended and then reinstates them at another IP address. 'There has been some outcry about all this from the ICANN At-Large Committee, but as of this writing there has been no response from ICANN's Tim Cole,' Heller writers. 'Perhaps that has something to do with the fact that LogicBoxes, a Directi-owned registrar, has sponsored ICANN meetings in LA and Delhi.' Directi has since issued an official response to the allegations."
Link to Original Source
This discussion was created for logged-in users only, but now has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

U.S. Web Firm Outed As 'Phantom Registrar' Haven

Comments Filter:

Baseball is a skilled game. It's America's game - it, and high taxes. -- The Best of Will Rogers

Working...