Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "surveillance"

Date / TimeStory
Tuesday October 21, 2014 @09:22AM Speed Cameras In Chicago Earn $50M Less Than Expected
Saturday October 18, 2014 @01:51PM Florida Supreme Court: Police Can't Grab Cell Tower Data Without a Warrant
Friday October 17, 2014 @12:15PM An Air Traffic Control System For Drones
Monday October 13, 2014 @01:59AM Your Typing Style Is Now, Or Could Soon Be, Big Data
Monday October 13, 2014 @01:57AM Your typing style is now, or could soon be, big data
Saturday October 11, 2014 @09:18AM Core Secrets: NSA Saboteurs In China and Germany
Thursday October 09, 2014 @09:00AM Eric Schmidt: Anxiety Over US Spying Will "Break the Internet"
Thursday September 25, 2014 @02:46PM Drones Reveal Widespread Tax Evasion In Argentina
Thursday September 25, 2014 @02:11AM Shadowy Tech Brokers Deliver Data To the NSA
Tuesday August 12, 2014 @10:05AM Chinese Researchers' 'Terror Cam' Could Scan Crowds, Looking for Stress
Monday August 11, 2014 @08:32AM San Jose Police Apologize For Hiding Drone Program, Halts Until Further Review
Thursday August 07, 2014 @12:39AM Microsoft Tip Leads To Child Porn Arrest In Pennsylvania
Sunday July 27, 2014 @10:01AM When Spies and Crime-Fighters Squabble Over How They Spy On You
Saturday July 26, 2014 @09:20AM Private Data On iOS Devices Not So Private After All
Thursday July 24, 2014 @09:20AM Dutch Court Says Government Can Receive Bulk Data from NSA
Thursday July 03, 2014 @02:46PM NSA Considers Linux Journal Readers, Tor (And Linux?) Users "Extremists"
Tuesday July 01, 2014 @10:08AM Court Allowed NSA To Spy On All But 4 Countries
Tuesday June 24, 2014 @11:46AM They're Spying On You: Hacking Team Mobile Malware, Infrastructure Uncovered
Monday June 23, 2014 @08:05PM Google's Nest Buys Home Monitoring Camera Company Dropcam
Saturday June 21, 2014 @07:10AM Chicago Adding Sensors For Public Monitoring
Friday June 20, 2014 @06:34PM German Intel Agency Helped NSA Tap Fiber Optic Cables In Germany
Thursday June 19, 2014 @05:49PM How Secret Partners Expand NSA's Surveillance Dragnet
Monday June 16, 2014 @11:33PM Help Crowd-FOIA Stingray Usage Across America
Thursday June 12, 2014 @05:28PM US Pushing Local Police To Keep Quiet On Cell-Phone Surveillance Technology
Monday June 09, 2014 @10:34PM Chicago Robber Caught By Facial Recognition Sentenced To 22 Years
Monday June 09, 2014 @03:10PM Replicating the NSA's Gadgets Using Open Source
Friday June 06, 2014 @11:05PM Vodafone: Governments Worldwide Collecting Customers' Personal Data
Thursday June 05, 2014 @05:34PM US Marshals Seize Police Stingray Records To Keep Them From the ACLU
Sunday June 01, 2014 @03:22PM The Sudden Policy Change In Truecrypt Explained
Sunday June 01, 2014 @12:51PM NSA Collecting Millions of Faces From Web Images
Friday May 30, 2014 @09:19PM German Intelligence Agency Planning To Follow Big NSA Brother On Shoestring
Thursday May 29, 2014 @10:23AM German Authorities Lack Evidence To Prosecute Anyone For NSA Spying
Monday May 19, 2014 @03:32PM Almost 100 Arrested In Worldwide Swoop On Blackshades Malware
Sunday May 18, 2014 @11:45PM Cisco Complains To Obama About NSA Adding Spyware To Routers
Friday May 16, 2014 @12:39PM Gen. Keith Alexander On Metadata, Snowden, and the NSA: "We're At Greater Risk"
Thursday May 15, 2014 @09:30AM IACR Finally Gets Around To Repudiating Mass Surveillance
Tuesday May 06, 2014 @11:18AM Police Departments Using Car Tracking Database Sworn To Secrecy
Tuesday May 06, 2014 @08:23AM Researchers See a Post-Snowden Chilling Effect In Our Search Data
Thursday May 01, 2014 @09:05AM Mathematicians Push Back Against the NSA
Monday April 21, 2014 @12:22AM Snowden to Critics: Questioning Putin Has Opened Conversation About Surveillance
Thursday April 17, 2014 @12:59PM Snowden Queries Putin On Live TV Regarding Russian Internet Surveillance
Sunday March 23, 2014 @06:24PM L.A. Police: All Cars In L.A. Are Under Investigation
Tuesday March 18, 2014 @12:53PM New Facial Recognition Software May Detect Looming Road Rage
Tuesday March 18, 2014 @12:00PM Church Committee Members Say New Group Needed To Watch NSA
Thursday March 13, 2014 @04:35PM FISA Court Reverses Order To Destroy NSA Phone Data
Sunday March 09, 2014 @08:38PM Snowden Says No One Listened To 10 Attempts To Raise Concerns At NSA
Sunday March 09, 2014 @05:01PM Metadata and the Intrusive State
Tuesday March 04, 2014 @09:52AM Government Accuses Sprint of Overcharging For Wiretapping Expenses
Tuesday March 04, 2014 @09:38AM Snowden's NSA Leaks Gave IETF a Needed Security Wake-up Call
Thursday February 27, 2014 @11:09AM The Phone Dragnet That Caught the World's Top Drug Lord
Sunday February 23, 2014 @11:28AM Most Alarming: IETF Draft Proposes "Trusted Proxy" In HTTP/2.0
Tuesday February 18, 2014 @09:35AM French, German Leaders: Keep European Email Off US Servers
Tuesday February 11, 2014 @09:15AM Can Commercial Storage Services Handle the NSA's Metadata?
Tuesday January 28, 2014 @09:40PM U.S. Border Patrol Drone Goes Down, Rest of Fleet Grounded
Sunday January 26, 2014 @07:29PM Is the West Building Its Own Iron Curtain?
Friday January 24, 2014 @10:27PM Superbowl Means Time For Spy Cams, Hazmat Squads and Bomb-Sniffing Dogs
Sunday January 19, 2014 @01:43PM Translating President Obama's NSA Reform Promises Into Plain English
Thursday January 09, 2014 @09:41AM EU parliament says Prism part of US econ/polit espionage and not anti-terrorism
Thursday December 26, 2013 @04:54PM Houston Expands Downtown Surveillance, Unsure If It Helps
Thursday December 19, 2013 @09:21AM Police Pull Over More Drivers For DNA Tests
Tuesday December 17, 2013 @11:50AM Red Light Camera Use Declined In 2013 For the First Time
Saturday December 14, 2013 @06:27PM Indiana State Police Acknowledge Use of Cell Phone Tracking Device
Saturday December 14, 2013 @05:55PM Boston Police Stop Scanning Registration Plates, For Now
Friday December 13, 2013 @09:48PM NSA Able To Crack A5/1 Cellphone Crypto
Friday December 13, 2013 @08:07PM UK Men Arrested For Anti-Semitic Tweets After Football Game
Tuesday December 10, 2013 @08:43AM Snowden Document Shows Canada Set Up Spy Posts For NSA
Wednesday December 04, 2013 @10:43AM App Detects Neo-Nazis Using Their Music
Saturday November 16, 2013 @06:42PM How Big Companies Can Hamper the Surveillance Infrastructure
Monday November 11, 2013 @01:32PM Seattle PD Mum On Tracking By Its New Wi-Fi Mesh Network
Monday November 04, 2013 @07:03AM Richard Dawkins: Bin Laden has won ..
Sunday November 03, 2013 @01:04PM iPads banned from UK Cabinet meetings over surveillance fears
Saturday November 02, 2013 @05:38PM EU Considering Sensors In Sewers To Detect Bomb-Makers
Saturday November 02, 2013 @03:02PM GCHQ, European Spy Agencies Cooperate On Surveillance
Friday October 25, 2013 @04:17PM Surveillance protest planned for Washington D.C. on Saturday
Thursday October 24, 2013 @10:28AM MEPs vote to suspend data sharing with US
Thursday October 24, 2013 @10:10AM Top US Lobbyist Wants Broadband Data Caps
Tuesday October 15, 2013 @07:52AM RMS: How Much Surveillance Can Democracy Withstand?
Thursday October 10, 2013 @10:17AM What the Surveillance State Does With Your Private Data
Monday October 07, 2013 @08:36AM UK Minister: British Cabinet Was Told Nothing About GCHQ/NSA Spying Programs
Monday October 07, 2013 @07:21AM UK Minister: British Cabinet Was Told Nothing About GCHQ/NSA Spying Programmes
Sunday October 06, 2013 @12:21PM Sorm: Russia Intends To Monitor "All Communications" At Sochi Olympics
Sunday October 06, 2013 @11:30AM Sorm: Russia Intends To monitor "All Communications" At Winter Olympics In Sochi
Saturday September 21, 2013 @05:43PM RSA Warns Developers Not To Use RSA Products
Thursday August 29, 2013 @04:05AM Microsoft forces German Windows-backdoor article offline
Thursday August 29, 2013 @04:04AM France to open preliminary investigation about PRISM program
Wednesday August 21, 2013 @08:15AM New Zealand Passes Law Allowing Domestic Spying
Wednesday August 21, 2013 @02:28AM German goverment warns of Windows 8
Saturday August 17, 2013 @04:58PM Commercial Drone Industry Heating Up
Saturday August 17, 2013 @06:41AM The Next Frontier of Consumer Exploitation By Corporations
Sunday August 11, 2013 @01:49PM Londoners Tracked By Advertising Firm's Trash Cans
Sunday August 11, 2013 @08:35AM Cory Doctorow: privacy, oversharing and government surveillance
Saturday August 10, 2013 @06:30PM Cory Doctorow On Privacy and Oversharing
Friday August 09, 2013 @07:48PM Obama on Surveillance: "We Can and Must Be More Transparent"
Thursday August 08, 2013 @06:03PM Soldiers Looking For Hookups On Craigslist Are Being Warned of a Military Sting
Thursday August 08, 2013 @03:56PM Encrypted Email Provider Lavabit Shuts Down, Blames US Gov't
Thursday August 08, 2013 @07:24AM NZ Professor Advocates Civil Disobedience Against Mass Surveillance
Thursday August 08, 2013 @04:37AM Civil disobedience against mass surveillance
Saturday July 27, 2013 @06:43PM Retail Stores Plan Elaborate Ways To Track You
Thursday July 25, 2013 @08:42AM CNET: Feds Put Heat On Web Firms For Master Encryption Keys
Thursday July 25, 2013 @08:25AM VOIP Provider Viber Attacked By Syrian Electronic Army
Tuesday July 16, 2013 @01:41PM NSA Spying Hurts California's Business
Sunday July 14, 2013 @08:48AM What Medical Tests Should Teach Us About the NSA Surveillance Program
Friday July 12, 2013 @08:08PM Microsoft's Cooperation With NSA Either Voluntary, Or Reveals New Legal Tactic
Thursday July 11, 2013 @02:37PM BlackBerry Helps Indian Gov't Spy On Users' Messages
Tuesday July 09, 2013 @07:57AM US Spies Have "Security Agreements" With Foreign Telecoms
Wednesday July 03, 2013 @05:01PM Hidden Microphone found in Ecuadorian Embassy where Julian Assange is holed up
Tuesday July 02, 2013 @12:22PM WA Post Publishes 4 More Slides On Data Collection From Google, Et Al
Tuesday July 02, 2013 @12:17PM FBI Paid Informant Inside WikiLeaks
Sunday June 30, 2013 @11:03AM To Counter Widespread Surveillance, Stealth Clothing
Thursday June 27, 2013 @03:51PM Meet PRISM's English Little Brother: Socmint
Thursday June 27, 2013 @01:10PM Automated Plate Readers Let Police Collect Millions of Records On Drivers
Thursday June 27, 2013 @04:50AM Richard Stallman Speaks About Back Doors After NSA Documents Leak
Tuesday June 25, 2013 @08:07AM Introducing the NSA-Proof Crypto-Font
Monday June 24, 2013 @01:51PM iFixit Giving Away 1,776 "iPhone Liberation Kits"
Friday June 21, 2013 @08:01PM QANTAS Wants To Monitor Frequent Flyers' Home Internet
Thursday June 20, 2013 @09:42AM Nationwide Snooping System Launched In India
Monday June 17, 2013 @11:14AM Apple Details US Requests For Customer Data
Sunday June 16, 2013 @07:20PM Revealed: How the UK Spied On Its G20 Allies At London Summits
Friday June 14, 2013 @08:52AM Microsoft Office Finally Gets iOS App
Thursday June 13, 2013 @12:32PM Ask Slashdot: How To Bypass Gov't Spying On Cellphones?
Thursday June 13, 2013 @09:20AM Google Asks Government For More Transparency, Other Groups Push Back Against NSA
Thursday June 13, 2013 @05:31AM Apple Revises Warranty Policies In Europe To Comply With EU Laws
Thursday June 13, 2013 @05:15AM Apple revises warranty policies in Europe to comply with UE laws
Tuesday June 11, 2013 @12:50PM Macs No More: After Edward Snowden, Time to Come to the Penguin
Sunday June 02, 2013 @08:43AM Montreal Union Wants a Camera On Every Policeman's Uniform
Friday May 31, 2013 @06:02PM Google Maps Used To Find Tax Cheats
Thursday May 30, 2013 @04:36PM DOJ Fights To Bury Court Ruling On Government Surveillance
Sunday May 05, 2013 @07:29PM Former FBI Agent: All Digital Communications Stored By US Gov't
Tuesday April 30, 2013 @12:08PM National Security Draft For Fining Tech Company "Noncompliance" On Wiretapping
Friday April 26, 2013 @10:56AM NYC Police Comm'r: Privacy Is 'Off the Table' After Boston Bombs
Thursday April 11, 2013 @08:18AM Speeding Ticket Robots — Laws As Algorithms
Tuesday April 09, 2013 @03:03AM Bruce Schneier: IT for Oppression
Thursday April 04, 2013 @10:12AM Microsoft, NYC Marketing Vast Surveillance System To Other Cities
Tuesday April 02, 2013 @12:13PM Google Glass and Surveillance Culture
Sunday March 31, 2013 @11:19PM Ask Slashdot: How To Stay Ahead of Phone Tracking ?
Sunday March 31, 2013 @01:55PM Gauging the Dangers of Surveillance
Friday March 29, 2013 @11:23AM Bluetooth Surveillance Tested In the UK
Wednesday March 13, 2013 @09:27PM Obama Administration To Allow All Spy Agencies To Scour Americans' Finances
Wednesday March 13, 2013 @06:29AM Hacking Team and the Murky World of State-Sponsored Spying
Monday March 11, 2013 @12:40AM Ohio Judge Rules Speed Cameras Are a Scam
Thursday March 07, 2013 @10:43AM Google Releases Data On FBI Spying
Wednesday March 06, 2013 @01:26AM Google Reveals FBI's Secret Demands For User Data
Saturday February 16, 2013 @02:30PM Tin Foil Chic
Wednesday February 13, 2013 @07:35PM Do Not Track Ineffective and Dangerous, Says Researcher
Wednesday February 13, 2013 @05:48PM Do Not Track ineffective and dangerous, says researcher
Tuesday February 05, 2013 @10:00AM HR Departments Tell Equifax Your Entire Salary History
Monday January 28, 2013 @11:29AM 58,000 Security Camera Systems Critically Vulnerable To Hackers
Saturday January 26, 2013 @07:35PM Glasgow To Be UK's First 'Smart City'
Sunday December 30, 2012 @01:16PM Moscow Plane Crash Caught On Passerby's Dash Cam
Sunday December 30, 2012 @01:01PM Commercial plane crash in Moscow caught on passerby's vehicle dash cam
Tuesday December 25, 2012 @12:59PM NYPD To Identify 'Deranged' Gunmen Through Internet Chatter
Sunday December 16, 2012 @06:32PM When Writing, How Anonymous Can You Be, Really?
Wednesday December 05, 2012 @06:41AM Everyone in USA Under Virtual Surveillance
Tuesday November 13, 2012 @12:21AM Homeland Security Mining Social Media For Signs of Bio Attacks
Friday November 02, 2012 @07:15PM Most US Drones Still Beam Video Unencrypted
Thursday November 01, 2012 @04:24PM Seattle's Creepy Cameraman Pushes Public Surveillance Buttons
Wednesday October 31, 2012 @05:38AM More drones set to use US air space
Wednesday October 31, 2012 @05:14AM Federal Judge Approves Warrantless Covert Video Surveillance
Sunday October 28, 2012 @12:09PM Researchers Develop Surveillance System That Can Watch & Predict
Saturday October 27, 2012 @12:08AM Secret Stingray Warrantless Cellphone Sippenhaft
Friday October 12, 2012 @06:03PM Seattle Police Want More Drones, Even While Two Sit Unused
Wednesday October 10, 2012 @10:30PM Australian Government Censors Draft Snooping Laws
Friday October 05, 2012 @07:17AM The CIA and Jeff Bezos Bet $30 Million On Quantum Computing Company
Friday September 28, 2012 @07:49PM ASIC Seeks Power To Read Your Emails
Friday September 28, 2012 @07:02AM Electronic Surveillance By US Law Enforcement Agencies Rising Steeply
Friday September 14, 2012 @10:22PM Cameras To Watch Cameras In Maryland
Friday September 14, 2012 @10:07PM Report Hints At Privacy Problem of Drones That Can Recognize Faces
Friday September 14, 2012 @08:35PM Twitter Hands Over Messages At Heart of Occupy Case
Thursday September 13, 2012 @08:00AM House Approves Extending the Warrantless Wiretapping Act
Monday September 10, 2012 @01:14PM Following FEMA's Zombie Preparedness Plan Could Land You On Terrorist List
Sunday September 09, 2012 @10:45PM How Spyware Reaches Oppressive Governments
Friday September 07, 2012 @06:34PM FBI Launches $1 Billion Nationwide Face Recognition System
Thursday September 06, 2012 @09:50AM Jimmy Wales Threatens To Obstruct UK Government Snooping
Thursday September 06, 2012 @08:31AM Networked Cars: Good For Safety, Bad For Privacy
Thursday September 06, 2012 @08:13AM FBI Denies It Held iPhone UDIDs Stolen By AntiSec
Tuesday September 04, 2012 @12:46PM Leave Your Cellphone At Home, Says Jacob Appelbaum
Monday August 27, 2012 @09:33AM UK license-plate cameras have "gaps in coverage"
Thursday August 23, 2012 @11:34PM Detained Ex-Marine Ordered By Judge To Be Released
Thursday August 23, 2012 @01:47AM Ask Slashdot: Best VPN Service For Australia?
Friday August 10, 2012 @08:24PM Minneapolis Police Catalog License Plates and Location Data
Friday July 27, 2012 @08:37AM Microsoft Makes Skype Easier To Monitor
Friday July 27, 2012 @08:30AM "Bomb Threat" Tweet Conviction Overturned By UK Appeals Court
Tuesday July 24, 2012 @09:48AM Spooky: How NSA's Surveillance Algorithms See Into Your Life
Tuesday July 24, 2012 @06:54AM Spooky: How NSA's Surveillance Algorithms See Into Your Life
Wednesday July 18, 2012 @06:07PM McDonald's Denies Prof's Claim Staff Attacked Him For Wearing Digital Glasses
Wednesday July 18, 2012 @03:56PM McDonald's Denies Prof's Claim Staff Attacked Him For Wearing Computer Eyepiece
Saturday July 14, 2012 @05:24PM NYT: Details of FDA Surveillance of Federal Scientists
Thursday July 12, 2012 @08:24AM 2 Year Data Retention For Australian ISPs
Tuesday July 10, 2012 @12:03PM Cell Carriers Responded Last Year To 1.3M Law Enforcement Data Requests
Tuesday July 10, 2012 @08:29AM NY Couple On "Wanted" Poster For Filming Police
Tuesday July 03, 2012 @08:01AM Twitter Can't Keep Protestor's Data From Cops
Wednesday June 20, 2012 @03:55PM Canadian Government Backs Down On Airport Recording
Wednesday June 20, 2012 @01:12PM Chuck Schumer Tells Apple and Google To "Curb Your Spy Planes"
Monday June 18, 2012 @12:38AM US Gov't Demands For Google Data Up 37% Over the Last Year
Monday June 18, 2012 @12:20AM U.S. Government Demands For Google's Data Increased 37% Over The Last Year
Sunday June 17, 2012 @03:40PM At Canadian Airports, Your Conversation May Be Remotely Recorded
Saturday June 16, 2012 @10:50PM Remotly recording conversations at Canadian airports
Sunday June 10, 2012 @02:38PM Kinect: You Are the Controlled
Thursday June 07, 2012 @09:37AM Could Cops Use Google As Pre-Cogs?
Tuesday June 05, 2012 @11:37AM After a Year In Orbit, US Air Force's X37-B Will Conclude Its Secret Mission

There's a whole WORLD in a mud puddle! -- Doug Clifford

 



Forgot your password?
Working...